Heads up: DHL email scam

by Cinda Baxter on October 13, 2009 · 1 comment

dhl_logoGiven the sheer volume of shipping retailers do, it’s not unusual to receive an email from a freight company regarding an errant package. The past few weeks, however, there’s been a scam email floating around, sent from what appears to be a legitimate DHL account (using their correct domain name after the @), but hold on…. Why does the language seem to flow a bit on the stilted, awkward side?

Because it’s fake. If you receive the following email (or similar), do NOT open the attachment:

Hello!

We failed to deliver the package you have sent on the 16th of July in time
because the recipient’s address is incorrect.
Please print out the invoice copy attached and collect the package at our department.

According to DHL:

Please be advised that if you received an email suggesting that DHL is attempting to deliver a package and asking that you open the email attachment in order to affect delivery, the email is fraudulent, contains a virus, and the package does not exist. Please do not open the attachment. This is due to the Infostealer.Banker.C virus, which has been confirmed to be a real virus attached to a fraudulent email.

This virus is not coming from DHL – the authors of the malicious email virus are only using the DHL name in their message to grab user’s attention. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Normally, you can spot fakes like this by looking at the domain name on the sender’s email (then checking it online to see where it leads), but not always. In this case, a simple check of the DHL site popped up the virus warning on their home page. When in doubt, use your usual method of contact to check things out-—never rely on the links provided in a hinky sounding email since they’ll only point you where the sender wants you to go. Honest or otherwise.

Trust your gut, folks. After all, if it quacks like a duck….

Click on the icons below to share this post:
  • Digg
  • TwitThis
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • Technorati

Related posts:

  1. Domain registry scam alert
  2. Another PayPal scam
  3. Now…let’s talk about that email address of yours
  4. Heads up: Facebook and PayPal scams making the rounds

{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

Terry Irish October 13, 2009 at 9:44 am

Cinda,

We just received a UPS fake email just like the one you mentioned, so be aware.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: